Vote in the 2020 Sierra Club Angeles Chapter Elections

  • Posted on 15 September 2020
  • By The Angeles Chapter



The annual Angeles Chapter elections begin Monday, October 5, and end Monday, November 9. Active members will be voting for

  • At-large positions on the Angeles Chapter Executive Committee,
  • Members of the Executive/Management Committee for their Regional Group in the Chapter.

Ballots: There are three ways to access the ballot needed for you to vote: 

  1. All members who voted by paper ballots last year will automatically recieve a paper ballot in the mail.
  2. Members who receive email from Sierra Club will receive a chapter election email message containing a link to an online ballot designed for your group by October 5th.
  3. Members who only receive postal mail from the Sierra Club can access ballot and voting information by using the instructions included on the last page of the SoCal Now newsletter. That voting information will include voter IDs for all voting members living at your address. 

If you have not been notified by email or the SoCal Now newsletter by October 6th, you may request Online Ballots or Paper Ballots along with candidate statements for your household by contacting Chapter Director, Morgan Goodwin, by phone at (213) 514-5804, by email at or by mailing your request to:

Paper Ballot
Sierra Club Angeles Chapter
3250 Wilshire Blvd #1106
Los Angeles, CA 90010

For ballot requests, please include your Sierra Club member ID (7 or 8 digit number) if you have it, the names of voting members in your household, your mailing address for a Paper Ballot, and your email address for an Online Ballot. Please allow 5-7 business days to receive Paper Ballots.

Voting Deadline is November 9th

  • Paper Ballots must be mailed to arrive at the office (the address above) before November 9th.
  • Online Ballots must be submitted by 12:00 midnight the evening of November 9th.


Angeles Chapter Executive Committee: There are seven (7) candidates for four (4) open at-large positions on the Angeles Chapter's governing body, the Executive Committee or ExCom. The top four vote-getters will be elected to serve in the 2021-2023 term of office. Statements from the candidates are available below.

Group Executive Committees: Statements from the candidates running for group executive committiees are available below.

Executive Committee Candidates

Elizabeth Neat

Macria Hanscom

John Nilsson

Dennis Loya

Derek Berlin

Jason Islas

Lynne Plambeck

Candidate Statements

Airport Marina Group

Miriam Faungno

Kathy Knight

Candidate Statements

Antelope Valley Group

Harry Talyor

Paula Hock

Candidate Statemetns

Central Valley Group

Raj Patel

Julio Moreno

Jason Wisely

Kawana Key

Candidate Statements

Crescenta Valley Group

Silvia Darie

Jeff Wilson

Cathy Kissinger

Bettie Pearson

Fred Dong

[No Candidate Statements]

Long Beach Group

Candidate Statements

Orange County Group

Patricia (Patti) Barnes

Sherri Sisson

Candidate Statements

Pasadena Group

George Vine

Pam Allen

Ginny Heringer

Candidate Statements

Palos Verdes South Bay Group

Joyce White

Dean Fran├žois

Melanie Cohen

Bill Lavoie

Al Sattler

Candidate Statements

Rio Hondo Group

Gary Sjogren

Mike Bressler

Penny Fonches

Candidate Statements

San Fernando Valley Group

David Troy

Chris Anstead

Joe Phillips

[No candidates statements]

Santa Clarita Group

Dave Morrow

Dianne Trautman

Lynne Plambeck

Candidate Statements

Sierra Sage Group

Ed Maurer

Mike Sappingfield

Sharon Koch

Patty Sappingfield

Candidate Statements

Verdugo Hills Group

Judy Anderson

Evelyn Alexander

Eugene Paulin

Bruce Hale

David Eisenberg

Candidate Statements

West LA Group

Jason Islas

Dr. Khin Khin Gyi

Kathy Seal

Dr. Leah Pressman

Meghan Sahli-Wells

Paul Cooley

Candidate Statements

Blog Category: