Becoming A Leader
Home
Contact Us
Membership
Outings Past Events
Leaders Resources
Policies & Bylaws
Links
We are always looking for New Leaders!

Requirements for becoming a leader at the basic "O" level are:

1.Current Sierra Club membership
2.Participation on five Sierra Club trips/hikes
3.Passing an open book pre-seminar exam from the Leader Reference Book (LRB)
4.Attendance at an all day LTP seminar
5.Completion of first aid and CPR training
6.Satisfactory completion of a provisional outing


LTP Seminars are held in April and October
Please download this Application Form to register for the Leader Training Seminar and begin the process.
You can take a first aid/CPR class with the Red Cross or take a free course from the Sierra Club.
You can get Provisional Forms from the LTC (Leadership Training Committee) Website

See Information BELOW on the Free First Aid Classes and Selecting a Checkout Leader for you Provisional Hike

SELECTING A CHECK OUT LEADER

The Sierra Club encourages members to become leaders.  We need you!  It’s fun and rewarding. For information on Leadership Training Course (LTC), click on this link, http://angeles.sierraclub.org/ltc/.  We encourage you to sign up for the next seminar.   Please read “Guidelines for Provisional Trip Leaders” located on the OCSS website under Policies.   Contact the OCSS Outings/Safety Chair for assistance.    

 

Selecting a Check Out Leader:  Congratulations!  You have completed many of your LTC requirements and are now ready for your provisional trip.  The OCSS Outings Chair can assist in selecting a good evaluating leader for your trip. You should not choose someone with whom you are closely associated.  Rather chose a leader of experience who will give an impartial evaluation of your leadership.  The leader should be someone who has lead a significant number of trips at the difficulty level, and has a body of experience as a leader that will help support your decisions and finally act as a safety back up if needed.

Suggested Check out Leaders

Name:

Email/Phone:

Rating:

Check out Qualified:

Kathy Abele

kathiker@cs.com

O

Hike

Dave Black

dave.black@sbcglobal.net

I

 Hike/Backpacking, SS,Nav

Steve Botan

sbotan@pacbell.net

O

 Hike

Shilo Bartlett

simcha@socal.rr.com

O

 Hike

Breul, Kim

kim_breul@hotmail.com

O-1

Hike

Campbell, Ron

campbellr@verizon.net

M

Hike/ Snow/BP/Nav

Clark, Todd

clarkta@hotmail.com

O

Hike, BP

Barbara Creighton

bcreighton@socal.rr.com

O

Hike

Michael & Phyllis Dodson

phyllisd@surfside.net

M/O

 Ski/Snowcamp/Nav/hike

Cheryl Gill

grumpy2b@aol.com

I

 Hike/BP/Nav

Sue Harris

sueharris@cox.net

O

 Hike

Ana Juarez

Acoyame@aol.com

O

 Hike, BP

Joel Kenyon

jkenyon2002@excite.com

O

Hike, BP

Kuhn, Dave

mtndave@cox.net

O-2

Hike, BP checkoff qualified June 2009

John LaRue

jclarue@uci.edu

O

 Hike, BP

Virginia Lucas

virginialucas@hotmail.com

O

Hike

Keith Martin

keithwmartin@sbcglobal.net

M

 Hike/ski/snowcamp/BP/Nav

Joe Maynard

maynard0@ix.netcom.com

O

 Hike

Scott & Julie Smith Meek

smeek@worldnet.att.com

I

 Hike/ski/snowcamp/BP/Nav

Mark Mitchell

markm@lacma.org

I

Hike, ski, BP, Nav

Gloria Nafel

gnafel@verizon.net

O

Hike, Ski

Markey/Robert Neighbors

mldaley@aol.com

I

 Hike, BP, Nav

Linda Renkus

linda.renkus@ggusd.net

O

 Hike

Donna Specht

donnaspecht@juno.com

I

 Hike/ski/snowcamp/BP/Nav

Virgil Talbott

virgil_talbott@adelphia.net

E

 Hike/ski/snowcamp/Nav,SS

Jan Nemmert

janmargaret@earthlink.net

O

 Hike, Ski, SS

Charlene Vincent

cvincent@broadcom.com

O-1

Hike